© 2022 New England Public Media

FCC public inspection files:

For assistance accessing our public files, please contact hello@nepm.org or call 413-781-2801.
NEPM Header Banner
PBS. NPR. Local Perspective.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Jazz & World

Jazz Night in America: On the List

Jazz Night in America's On the List playlist
Amna Ijaz

Updated June 7, 2022 at 12:27 PM ET

Jazz Night in America is a radio and video documentary series that goes deep on stories across the jazz diaspora. On the List shakes loose our staff's favorite new releases every month — from traditional tunes to avant-garde adventures to electronic experiments, we'll keep our ears open in order to present you with a selection of the genre's newly-mined gems. These songs represent just a small sampling of the music released by jazz artists around the world; we hope that as we share our discoveries you feel inspired to embark on your own exploration of what's new. (If you'd like to hear the music featured on Jazz Night in America, we've got that, too.)

Stream via Apple Music or Spotify.

Our favorites from May 2022:

Nduduzo Makhathini, "Amathongo"
Steven Bernstein & The Hot 9, "Black Bottom Stomp"
Jean Carn, Adrian Younge, Ali Shaheed Muhammad, "The Summertime"
The Polish Ambassador, Ananda Vaughan, Jesse Klein, Robin Jackson, "Bootyscoot"
Joakim, 808 State, "Kepler-39 808 State Remix"
Martina DaSilva, Dan Chmielinksi, Joel Ross, "My Universe"
Ches Smith, "Interpret It Well"
Martin Bejerano, "#CubanAmerican"
Shabaka, "Black Meditation"
Mary Halvorson, "Flying Song"
José Medeles, M.Ward, "Richness of Peace"
Anomalie, "Come Running to Me"
Jake Sherman, "Me (Armando Young Remix)"
João Bosco, "Incompatibilidade de Gênios"
Julieta Eugenio, "Another Bliss"
The Bad Plus, "Motivations II"
Jonathan Barber, "Denim"
John Scofield, "There Will Never Be Another You" Or Bareket, "Root System"
Jasmine Mytra, "Horizons"
Melody Gardot, "What Of Your Eyes"
DoomCannon, "Black Liberation"
Jack Jezzro (feat. Pat Coil, Jacob Jezioro & Danny Gottlieb), "Satin Doll"
Unc D, Thin Thicket, Damon Soulful Samurai Poole, "HPHCPH.MMBL"
Håkan Broström, Carl Winther Trio, "May Night"
Erik Borelius, "Out of the Shadow"
Rosey Chan, "A Dance To The Music of Time"
MONKY, Takumi Kaneko, Tomoharur "Jr." Takhashi, Yoshio Tobayshi, "HOOCHING"

Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.